Saturday, 19 February 2000

Ireland 44 Scotland 22

Ireland recorded their first win over Scotland in 12 years after producing a remarkable second-half display to overwhelm the defending champions 44-22 in the Six Nations match at Lansdowne Road.

Ireland, fielding five new caps among eight changes to the side humiliated 50-18 by England two weeks ago, launched a ferocious fightback after going 10-0 down early on to seal their first championship win in Dublin since 1996.

It was also the first time they had beaten a team other than Wales in the championship for five years and the remarkable rediscovery of their form will have done much to relieve the mounting pressure on New Zealand-born coach Warren Gatland.

The defeat was another blow to Scotland, whose defence of the championship had begun so disastrously with a shock 34-20 reverse at the hands of tournmaent newcomers Italy in Rome.

Ireland's points came through tries by lock Malcolm O'Kelly, wing Shane Horgan -- on his debut -- centre Brian O'Driscoll, substitute David Humphreys and captain Keith Wood.

Fly-half Ronan O'Gara, another new face in the Irish line-up, overcame a nervous start to register two penalties and two conversions.  Humphreys, who replaced him early in the second half, struck one penalty and three conversions.

Scotland's points came through a try, two conversion and a penalty by wing Kenny Logan and late consolation tries by fullback Glenn Metcalfe and prop George Graham.

The Teams:

Ireland:  1 Peter Clohessy, 2 Keith Wood (c), 3 John Hayes, 4 Mick Galwey, 5 Malcolm O'Kelly, 6 Kieron Dawson, 7 Simon Easterby, 8 Anthony Foley, 9 Peter Stringer, 10 Ronan O'Gara, 11 Denis Hickie, 12 Mike Mullins, 13 Brian O'Driscoll, 14 Shane Horgan, 15 Girvan Dempsey
Reserves:  Jeremy Davidson, Rob Henderson, David Humphreys, Justin Fitzpatrick
Unused:  Guy Easterby, Trevor Brennan, Frankie Sheahan

Scotland:  1 Tom Smith, 2 Gordon Bulloch, 3 Mattie Stewart, 4 Stuart Grimes, 5 Scott Murray, 6 Budge Pountney, 7 Martin Leslie, 8 Gordon Simpson, 9 Bryan Redpath (c), 10 Gregor Townsend, 11 Shaun Longstaff, 12 Jamie Mayer, 13 Graham Shiel, 14 Kenny Logan, 15 Glenn Metcalfe
Reserves:  George Graham, Andy Nicol, Robbie Russell, Doddie Weir
Unused:  Duncan Hodge, James McLaren, Stuart Reid

Attendance:  40000
Referee:  Dume j.

Points Scorers:

Tries:  Horgan S. 1, Humphreys D.G. 1, O'Kelly M.E. 1, O'Driscoll B. 1, Wood K.G.M. 1
Conv:  Humphreys D.G. 3, O'Gara R. 2
Pen K.:  Humphreys D.G. 1, O'Gara R. 2

Tries:  Metcalfe G.H. 1, Graham G. 1, Logan K.McK. 1
Conv:  Logan K.McK. 2
Pen K.:  Logan K.McK. 1

No comments: